Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

Blistered sister

Damn.

And double damn.

I returned to physical therapy Monday.  Walked about 300 feet and did a one-step exercise. Joe also gave me a good hamstring stretch.  This is all good. uh huh. Decided to take my leg off once I got into dialysis so I wouldn’t stress my skin too much. About 21/2 hours into treatment, they did a foot check and asked to see my stump as well.  “You’ve got blisters here.”

Damn and double damn.

We called off PT for the next two sessions at least  and put in a call to Sherri, my prosthetist, to see if she could tell me what I’m doing wrong that’s causing the blisters. She just returned the call as I’m writing this post and told me to wait til she can take a look at the situation before I attempt to use the leg again. That’s a no brainer for me. The last thing I want to do is set up an infection. I’d rather be overly cautious than lose more of my leg, but at this rate it feels as if it will take a year to get in 2 weeks of PT treatment.

Jodi, the physician’s assistant in Dr. V’s office, prescribed something other than Immodium to try to control the loose stool problem I’ve been having. I certainly will be relieved if it works. I’m tired of doing a prewash rinse out of nightgowns and underwear. I know: too much information.

But, the sun is shining and the snow has melted and we’re not in flood-troubled Grand Forks, so smiles are in order.

March 31, 2009 Posted by | kidney | 3 Comments