Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

Lookee here

There’s been progress on several fronts this past week:

  • Prosthesis – The prosthetist added several more layers of leather padding to the receptecle that holds the stump and I increased the number of sock plies to 19. It’s time, Sherrie said, to go to the next casting for a new receptacle. She came Thursday to make the new cast, which will be considerably smaller because of the amount of shrinkage that’s occurred.  We’re a step closer to the final prosthesis. The new leg will be lighter both in weight and color. The next incarnation will be clear plastic and have a more flexible foot.  It will also have a lock and pin system that should keep the prosthesis  more securely positioned on my leg and require many fewer sock plies. The lock and pin system left me somewhat bewildered when Sherrie first explained it – with visual aids no less: A plastic  plate with a female connector to hold a pin is a new addition to the bottom of  the silicon liner sock. The pin Sherrie showed me looked like a heavy duty screw. Once the pin is “screwed in”,  she said, a button at the side of the leg locks the prosthesis in place. I spent the next couple of days trying to figure out how the prosthesis would screw on the leg. I had visions of a crusty one-eyed pirate twirling a peg leg around and around his stump while a green parrot loudly squawked encouragement from his shoulder.  The next dialysis treatment Don, the husband of a fellow patient, explained the peg wasn’t a screw. Each ridge on the peg is an individual circle. OOOOOOOOOOOkay. That makes sense. Duh. The lock on the side uses an individual ridge to hold  the leg in position.
  • Vocational Rehabilitation – I received a letter telling me I am evaluated as having a “substantial disability” which means I’ll be high up on the waiting list of clients. They’re not taking new clients at the moment.
  • The Gazette – It looks like I’ll become a “content provider” for a couple of online offerings including health and crafting. I’ve got some ideas for both areas that I hope readers will find interesting. I’m excited by the prospect.

Meanwhile, I’m still chomping through books at an alarming rate. More on that later.

February 1, 2009 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, fistula, health, kidney, renal diet, renal recipes, transplant, weight loss

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

