Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

And again …

It’s snowing again, quite furiously, swirling in all directions like a snow globe shaken by a delighted child.  It’s Christmas eve. I guess we have to forgive Mother Nature and realize that all the good little children can relax in the knowledge that Santa’s sleigh will have an easier journey due to the new fallen snow.

Anyway, that’s what I’m telling myself.

We had a Christmas gathering here Friday evening. I invited the three knitting buddies who have been such a help to me while I was in hospital and when I got home.  Alecia, unfortunately, got the good old intestinal flu Friday morning and was unable to attend. 

A good time was had by all, to use a cliche, with lively piano music and a visit from Santa Claus thrown in for good measure. Linda and Mary were each dressed in festive red and seemed to enjoy themselves.  I’m glad. They’ve done so much for me I was glad to give them a tiny bit of holiday cheer.

Saturday my old friend and coworker, Mary, brought me holiday greetings from the Gazette newsroom and an envelope bulging with money, more than enough to bring Aaron home over the holidays if not Christmas day.

I was so touched I was speechless, not a state I often experience. It was the thought that touched me so deeply though the dollars will certainly ease the strain of some upcoming financial needs.

I miss the people in the newsroom and I wish them all the merriest of Christmases.

And you, gentle reader, I wish you the merriest of Christmases as well.

December 24, 2008 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, fistula, health, kidney, renal diet, renal recipes, transplant, weight loss

3 Comments »

  1. Merry Christmas, Kathy, and best wishes for 2008. I’ll hope to see you soon.

    Comment by Richard Pratt | December 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. We miss you too, Kathy. Merry Christmas!

    Comment by dpesek | December 25, 2008 | Reply

  3. Ummm … that would be 2009, for the chronologically challenged like myself.

    Comment by Richard Pratt | December 29, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

