Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

Vocational rehabilitation orientation and a correction

I made it to the vocational rehabilitation orientation meeting in plenty of time Thursday. It was a short meeting and I had already filled my application out at home so I was done and had another appointment set up within 20 minutes. The second appointment will determine what my disability status is and whether or not I’ll have to go on a waiting list for help. They’ll also ask me to sign medical release papers so they can get documentation of my medical problems.

I asked if I could have that meeting that same day, but that was not possible. Now I have to find transportation to get me to the voc rehab office by 11 a.m. Tuesday. I called the LIFTS dispatcher Friday morning to see if I could arrange for them to transport me, but the dispatcher was not at the phone when I called. I had to leave a message and had to include that I was soon to be on my way to dialysis.  I didn’t hear back from her so I’ll have to wait until Monday to see if they can transport me.

LIFTS is a service provided by the county that transports disabled people to various appointments they might have and to work and back. The cost — compared to other transportation available — is very reasonable but it can be difficult to get the transportation arranged.

One good thing about the voc rehab possibility is that there are no income restrictions on who can receive help from the program. That’s a good thing for me since the long term disability I will receive from work pushes me over most income thresholds. 

The correction mentioned is the cost of the medicare supplement and drug plan I’ll be joining.  The monthly premium for the 2 plans together will be $172.

I expected to enroll Friday, but it was a comedy of errors and phone tag. I called the agent about 20 minutes before I thought the LIFTS bus would be here to take me to dialysis.  He was on another call so I waited on hold.  The bus was early so as soon as he came on the line, I had to tell him I had to leave. I told him to call me at dialysis about 11:15 because I was sure I’d be on treatment by then. Comma but, the driver got a call to pick up another passenger to take her to a doctor’s appointment. That got me to dialysis about 11:01, just past my put on time.

When I was finally on treatment, about 11:20 or so, a nurse brought me a cellphone and said the agent had called about 11:15. I called back but he was on the phone. His assistant  asked for the telephone number but I told her I didn’t know the cellphone number and asked her to tell him to call the dialysis unit back. He did, 2 minutes before my treatment ended. He offered to call me at home and I said fine, but could he wait until 5 p.m. because I was sure I’d be home by then.

I wasn’t. The LIFTS bus was late and we had a third passenger who lives outside the city. She was taken home first so it added about a half hour to the drive home. I came in the apartment door about 5:05. Mom said the insurance agent had called.  I knew he was going to be calling from home and since I had neither his home phone or cellphone number, I figured I’d have to wait for him to call back. He hasn’t or if he did it was while we were in the dining room for supper.

Isn’t that the way things happen? When you’re counting on things to be normal, they aren’t. C’est la vie.

December 6, 2008 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, fistula, health, kidney, renal diet, renal recipes, transplant, weight loss

1 Comment »

  1. Call me Monday if you don’t find a ride, Kathy. I can help you out Tuesday if you need it.

    Let me know!

    Richard

    Comment by Richard Pratt | December 6, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

