Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

Snowy show

The good morning greeting outside our apartment today was the sound of a snow plow clearing the parking lot. It’s the first real snow of the winter and though it’s beautiful, it brings back memories of last year’s icy, snow-filled winter. They are not memories that thrill me.

Several of the residents who were headed to family gatherings for Thanksgiving have changed plans for the day. The roads, I understand, had a thin layer of ice under the snow. It’s still snowing at mid-morning. The winter advisory issued will continue through midnight.

I’m glad I have no plans to venture out today.

I haven’t been wearing my prosthesis the past week. I’ve been waiting for a couple of blistered places to heal up before I introduce them to the confined area again. They were caused, the prothetist said, when the silicone liner sock wrinkled at the bottom and pinched the skin. He added some lamb’s wool to the bottom of the stump cup and said the contact with the wool will keep more blisters from forming. I don’t exactly understand the science behind that but if it works, I’m happy to comply.

I did wear the prosthesis a couple of times earlier in the week but after an hour and a half, including a couple 100-foot walks, the blisters were weeping again so I decided to give them a rest until scabbing formed. I certainly don’t want to promote infection.

I’m going to be looking online today at several Medicare prescription plan policies in the hopes of deciding on the best plan for me. I’ve made an appointment with the social worker at dialysis to discuss the plans and the coverage gap Monday. The gap thing, if I understand it correctly, scares me because I take a number of medications including two brand name insulins. 

I need to check out Medicare supplemental insurance, too, and will undoubtedly have to purchase it. Otherwise, according to the social worker, I will be responsible for 20% of the cost of dialysis. I certainly can’t afford that.

The “new normal” of my life can be overwhelming in both the minor and major areas. Meanwhile, I’ll try to appreciate the beauty of the snow … from the windows.

November 30, 2008 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, fistula, health, kidney, renal diet, renal recipes, transplant, weight loss

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

