Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

Thanksgiving

The smell of sage and sausage cooking brought a clutch of staff and residents to the community kitchen while Virginia and I made the homemade dressing for the Thanksgiving dinner. There were over 30 here for the meal. Mom and I were at a 4-top table joined by Barbara and her grandson.

I got many compliments, including a couple of the cooks, and no complaints on the dressing so I consider it a success. I had a second helping myself.

There was lots of chatter and the sounds of happy youngsters to brighten the meal, too, and knowing we didn’t have to do dishes was a special treat.

Mom and I watched the Macy’s parade in the morning. That sure has changed over the years with all the performances by singers and dancers. My favorite, because it made me laugh, was the boom-shacka-lacka businessmen’s drill team.

No football for us, though. We watched a movie or two and munched on the box lunch brought to our door for supper.

The thankful list:

Life

Good, helpful friends

Family

Those three cover just about everything don’t they?

Hope your Thanksgiving was good, too.

November 28, 2008 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, fistula, health, kidney, renal diet, renal recipes, transplant, weight loss

No comments yet.

Leave a comment