Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

Sunday treatment

It’s Sunday but because it’s a holiday week, it’s also a dialysis day: Same bat time, same bat station.

Thanksgiving pushes normal Thursday treatments to Wednesday; Wednesday treatments to Tuesday; Tuesday to Monday; and finally Monday treatments to Sunday. It took some special arrangements to get transportation set up for today. Now we just hope that Melissa remembers she agreed to come in to work today to take me to and pick me up from dialysis.

My knitting buddy, Mary, came by again Saturday afternoon and hung some decorative plates that miraculously made it through the June flood in the living room. It’s amazing how much more homey it feels to have curtain toppers up and plates on the wall.

She also unpacked the laptop and measured the area where a desk or table could fit so I can use the computer in the room. It’s not connected to a modem, though, so I’m at one of the two computer stations in the “internet cafe” here. I’ll have to check tomorrow to see if this building is actually a wi-fi area. They said it was when we moved in but I wonder if they were confusing wi-fi with internet.  It would be great — and cost me less — if the area is wi-fi.

Right now, the laptop is on a TV tray and I’m trying to set things up. That’s a bit difficult since so many of the programs require a trip to an internet site.

Alecia stopped by as well and made a trip to the grocery store for us. I’ve got everything in house now to make a big batch of homemade sausage bread dressing for the residents and guests who will be here Thanksgiving. Another resident, Virginia, is going to help make the dressing so we should manage to have a little fun doing it, too.

I doubt my recipe is super renal friendly, but it’s good and I need something familiar on the table this year. Plus I think the other residents will like something homemade as well. At last count, there will be about 35 people here.

If you’re looking for renal-friendly Thanksgiving recipes, check here.

November 23, 2008 - Posted by | kidney

1 Comment »

  1. Kathy,
    While reading my Sunday Gazette, I was capitivated by new editor Buttry’s commentary. As I read on about blogs, I thought I’ve got to check your site out and see how you’ve been. I have to admit that I did not know that you were no longer working at the same spot in the newsroom.
    Here’s hoping for much better health and a new start to your living arrangements. I miss your humor and sharp wit.

    Rick

    Comment by Rick Fangman | November 24, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

