Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

Nearly a year

The first day this blog was available to readers was October 29, 2007, so it’s nearly the one-year anniversary. My blog stats say there have been around 16,000 views in that time (mine don’t count) so there are more than several out there following my journey.

The journey – in search of a kidney transplant – has taken some definite detours, but I’m still hoping to one day have a transplant to free me from dialysis.

The early days of this blog followed my assessment appointments at Mayo Clinic. I have no recent news from them, but I also have not contacted them since losing all their records in the June flood here in Cedar Rapids.

How different my life is from a year ago. When I stop to think about it, it can be overwhelming.

I began experiencing vascular problems (I know now) with my right leg in January of this year. By June the vascular problems had become severe. Then the flood hit and wiped out our apartment and belongings. By the end of July, I was in the hospital. Two months and 3 operations later, I came out of the hospital alive but with my right leg amputated below the knee. 

I’m now trying to reconstruct my life… one day at a time. Frankly, it’s too much to comprehend any other way. I’m trying hard not to give up, tempting though that is, and doing what I can to keep on keeping on.

I want and need to go back to work.

I want and need to find purpose.

I want and need to find laughter.

I want and need to be connected.

October 27, 2008 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, fistula, health, kidney, renal diet, renal recipes, transplant, weight loss

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

