Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

Target date

My target date for release is September 30, that’s just to get home; no prosthesis involved.

I’ve been working hard, so I think I’ll be ready. Outpatient rehab will, of course, still be necessary and I’ve got some new equipment I need to get used to: a protector and shrink socks.

The protector is a large piece of plastic with mamouth chunks of velcro at the sides to hold it in place. It’s main job is to protect the incision from further injury. So it sticks out about 6 inches beyond the end of the stump. A new measurement to get used to.

The shrink socks are long tubes of plied socks so going up the leg has less pressure than around the stump. A lighter ply (about a 1) goes over the other to kind of keep it snug in place.

September 19, 2008 - Posted by | kidney

1 Comment »

  1. Kathy,
    I appreciate your posts to keep me and many many others up to date on your progress. I am sorry I have been unable to come see you, but if it means anything at all, you have been in my prayers fairly regularly. We’ll have to come up with a better name for your “stump” since you don’t like that word. Maybe something French. Till another time, Cathy

    Comment by CathyMae Joy | September 24, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

