Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

Help from some friends

I’m in the community room waiting for some lunch and a visit from a friend. Change of scene: It’s nearly 3 a.m. and I can’t sleep so I’ll talk a bit more about my friend. Actually, she’s become much more than a friend. She’s become a part of the family with her unselfish helpful ways. When need arose, she came on the scene ready to fill the gap with compassion, enthusiasm, understanding and humor. I’ve come to love her as a sister.

Her name is Alecia and though she may not seem special to some who know her, she is more than special to me; she is extraordinary. Her generosity of spirit is exceptional and her understanding and compassion unmatchable.

When she leaves, I tell her I love her and I mean it. Perhaps it’s easy for some to bandy that word, love, around, but not so for me, though the number of people it applies to seems to be growing in my life.

I don’t know that I would have the same dedication to someone outside my family. I can think of one or two perhaps and perhaps what happened with Alecia is that lucky for me I happened to fall into that category of one or two special people. If so, how glad I am to be in that group.

She doesn’t build hefself as a paragon of virtue or anything else. She doesn’t hold herself above others; she’s right here down on the hard earth with the rest of us. She’s what many would consider a good egg.

Her days are filled with dental appointments, doctor’s appointments, paying bills, mowing the yard and of recent days running errands and doing laundry for me.

Thank  you, Alecia.

September 18, 2008 - Posted by | kidney

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Kathy thanks for the note. I’ve been out of the loop myself since August (I think I’ve posted three articles since mid-August) – I’m in the Chicago area playing caregiver to my Mom. The next blog update will be a doosey; it’s very much my turn to do one.

    Bill

    Comment by Bill Peckham | September 18, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

