Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

Light at the end of the tunnel

I can see some light at the end of the tunnel and that is truly a good thing. It looks like September 30 is the target date the therapists and doctors have in mind. Sounds good to me!

I’ll be going home before I receive a prosthesis and I’m all for that. I want my stump (I hate that word) to heal as completely and safely as possible.  it’s looking good so far but Dr. Lawrence wants to make sure ischemia is accounted for. I do too. I don’t want anything rearing it’s ugly head to bite me in the ask yourself.

I’ve been working on upper body strength this morning using the arm bike and a tricep machine.  Also stood for 80 seconds in the parallel bars this bars and transferring from unequal heights. Transferring uphill is difficult, as you might imagine, so I need lots of practice on that.

I need to get a pair of bicycle gloves to help push the wheelchair. Think I can find a purple pair?

So many people have been so generous with help and good thoughts. It’s pretty incedible how help emerges just as you need it.

September 16, 2008 - Posted by | kidney

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

