Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

I’m here and alive

July 29 – the last post – seems a lifetime away. Lots has happened in the meantime including the amputation of my right leg about 6 inches below my knee. Lots of pain, lots of meds, lots of time lost, lots of disappointment, lots of adjustment both physical  and mental.

I’ve been in the hospital the entire time with three operations under my belt and the meds are still pretty strong in my system. Morphine had me – according to friends and family – working in Philadelphia (I’ve never been there) and involved with some Irioquois(sp?) Indians. The Irioquois were and especially annoying pick since the friend is English and couldn’t even Google the tribe to find out information.

I’m on the 6th floor of St. Luke’s hospital in Cedar Rapids. It’s recently remodeled and beautiful, as hospitals go.

I’m using a hospital computer to post this. Not going to post much more, though, because I keep nodding off.

Hope to post again soon.

September 14, 2008 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, fistula, health, kidney, renal diet, renal recipes, transplant, weight loss, weightloss |

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Kathy, it’s Kristin – used to work in the newsroom at the Gazette w/you. Just wanted to give ya a shout and tell you I’ve been thinking of you! I’ve been following your blog for the year and have been truly inspired by your moxy and sheer determination through everything – including the flood! We are iving in Davenport now but happened to be in CR over the weekend and ran into Tracy Pratt. I asked her how you were doing since you hadn’t posted in quite some time and she gave me the news of your surgery and lengthy hospitalization. Just know that I’m thinking of you and pulling for your recovery. You are a tremendous individual for all you’ve gone through. All my best to you.
    Kristin 🙂

    Comment by kristin | September 14, 2008 | Reply

  2. Kristin –

    Thanks for the good wishes. I can see some light at the end of the tunnel and that is truly a good thing. I’ll be going home before I receive a prosthesis and I’m all for that. I wamt my stump (I hate that word) to heal as completely and safely as possible. It looks like September 30 is the target date the therapists and doctors have in mind. Sounds good to me!

    Comment by iowakitkat | September 16, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

