Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

Hell and high water

That’s the remainders of our lives, piled into one corner of the apartment.

Precious to begin with, they’ve taken on an aura of reverence for me.

My friend Mary and her two adult sons, Jim and Andy, went into the apartment Sunday morning to see if they could find anything salvageable. Neither I nor my mom was physically able to go into the house, so it was a blessing when Mary offered to help.

What did they find? Most of the collector plates on the walls were saved (we’ll use them in decorating the new apartment); my Grandmother’s black iron Dutch oven (we may not cook in it again though there is a community kitchen here so who knows); some silverware that included a few pieces from my grandmother; a few pieces of pressed glass; a 5-gallon whiskey jug; my grandmother Weygant’s portrait; a few other family photos; and my grandmother and grandfather Danielson’s marriage certificate.

When Mary brought in the marriage certificate, I started to cry.  It’s always been special to me but when I saw it had survived the murky waters I realized just how much it meant. Sitting here writing about it, I’m tearing up again.

I am grateful beyond words to Mary and her sons for retrieving those things for us. We now have several thousand times more precious family items then we did a few days ago.  With those sprinkled around the new apartment, it truly will feel more like home.

The bathroom … or perhaps I should say the dregs of what used to be the bathroom.

The garage … it gives some idea how high the water was and how dirty.

Mary said the landlord, Doug, had done a great job in getting the big pieces out of the apartment and to the curb. He’d also taken the things from the walls that he thought could be saved. I thank him for that heavy lifting work, too, because I was worried about how we would manage to get it done.

We’re slowly putting our lives back together and arranging for furniture, etc. All this shopping stuff would be more fun if it was by choice.

My foot? Well, Friday morning they placed a stent in my right thigh and did a balloon angioplasty in the right calf. I was sedated, but awake during the procedure and when the vessels were expanded, it hurt like hell. It did bring some relief, though, and the pain of circulation returning, though acute, seems less so than the pain of the flesh dying from the lack of circulation.  I may lose some toes, but for the moment, we’re waiting to see what happens.

 

June 30, 2008 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, fistula, health, kidney, renal diet, renal recipes, transplant, weight loss

1 Comment »

  1. I wish I had something to say that could possibly help but I am at a loss for words. I’m trying to imagine 10 feet of water showing up at my house and I can’t really do it. At this point I’ll hope the stent did the trick and you get some relief from the medical symptoms you’re experiencing.

    Did you save your IHD t-shirt? I could at least send you a t-shirt.

    Comment by Billp | June 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

