Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

Perspective

The mass devastation left in the wake of Sunday’s tornado in Northeast Iowa put things more in perspective for me at the moment.  My pain and frustration is little – I won’t say nothing – compared to that unbelieveable chaos. My pain, frustration and discomfort seem inconsequential compared to the loss of life and lifestyle, disruption and desolation that occurred as Mother Nature raged across the land.

We were lucky here in Cedar Rapids when later that evening the storm struck here.  Winds and rains were incredible, but the storm howled around us doing little damage.

Yes, spring and now summer is almost here, but it has not been a gentle year thus far. The winter snows were hard and unforgiving, the spring storms now ravaging land that has yet to recover from the severity of winter.

I need to find some way to contribute help and I’d like to do it in more than a monetary way. I may contact the Red Cross to see if they need or would accept knitted items for the survivors.  Yeah, I know it may sound dorky to some, but knitting is, for me, a way to give more than just money to  a cause.  I see the stocking caps and slippers I knit for our troops as truly handcrafted warming hugs from home (and no, I do not support the war but I do support our troops). My cap and scarf sets for the local Coats for Kids program is a like effort. I think of kids being warm on the way home and maybe having fun knowing they have a spiffy, one-of-a-kind hat and scraf set. The afghan squares I’ve been making for the Pine Ridge Reservation keep my hands busy with idiot knitting that serves a purpose, again to warm those in cold Dakota counties.

Some how those busy hands help me mitigate my pain and feel productive.

I’ll see if there’s a need for any of those things in Parkersburg, Aplington or New Hartford.

May 28, 2008 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, fistula, health, kidney, renal diet, renal recipes, transplant, weight loss

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

