Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

A little help from my friends

I walked into the knitting group last night when what to my wondering eyes should appear but a lovely pink gift bag and a flock of duckies, so dear.

Just when it seems kind of lonely on this road, up pop friends with support and encouragement. The duckies – definitely of the species rubber – were floating on a turquoise textile pond of polar fleece bound to a second layer of bright yellow.  The artist of the warm wooly, Mary, knitting friend and vocal patient advocate who’s been riled on my behalf since she learned there are no blanket warmers on the unit.

The double layer of polar fleece, hand tied by Mary, is her way to keep me warm during treatments while she tries her best to remedy the situation.

The pink bag contained not one, but two surprises from another knitter friend, Devry.  The first suprise came upon openning the hot pink gift bag. Once the flap was opened a hip-grinding electronic version of “Wild Thing” blasted out through the coffeehouse. I was ginning and dancing in my chair and Devry, grinning back at me, said when she opened the bag, it reminded her of me. (big smile) I take that as a compliment.

Inside was a pedometer which left me a bit baffled until Devry explained she was doing a walk 10,000 steps a day challenge and she thought a pedometer might be a fun way for me to ease into more exercise. “You can just try adding 25 steps a day, you know?”  Hmmm, I wonder if dancing to “Wild Thing”, one of my favorite thumping rock songs to dance to, will count too.  I’d love to get into shape where I could do that again.

Such a surprise, and so special to me.

Thanks, Mary and Devry, you certainly made my day.

April 3, 2008 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, fistula, health, kidney, renal diet, renal recipes, transplant, weight loss

1 Comment »

  1. With the use of MRI technology on the rise, the chance of patient with some form of kidney disease receiving an MRI is more and more likely.

    Often to enhance the images received from an MRI reading, a physician will ask for an MRI ‘with contrast’ and you’re likely to receive the gadolinium contrast dye, Omniscan. This course of action could be fatal, and the very least, extremely painful and costly, for patients suffering from kidney disease.

    Nephrogenic Systemic Fibrosis: The symptoms are gut-wrenching and blood-curdling to describe, and even to read: yellowing of the eyes and a contraction of the skin to the point where a sufferer is literally frozen in place, a terminal condition.

    Your physician may not be aware of this disease. Tell him or her to read this … http://www.yourlawyer.com/topics/overview/nsf

    Comment by Pa Muckraker | April 8, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

