Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

Double duty

Saturday was the big day. The fistula passed its first double test. Both needles in the arm and the permacath languishing in disuse. It was a surpise to me that we were going to use both needles, but why not give it a try if the nurses think it’s appropriate?

The swelling in my thighs is still a mystery but at this time the pain seems to be in better control. I’m taking hydrocodone and know it’s working mainly because I can feel when it’s about to run its course.

Jodi, the nurse practitioner, added a prescription for an antibiotic mainly, I think, to stem off infection. I certainly wish I knew what was going on with them. The heat treatment and elevation seem to be helping somewhat, but I’m feeling pretty well tied to home.

Trying something new this week, too.  I did my grocery shopping online. The food is to be delivered this afternoon for a $15 delivery charge. If their choices in produce and fruit are acceptable, this may well end up the new way for me to go grocery shopping.

It took quite a long session online to get the order together and placed, but I did it in several chunks to allow time to keep my legs elevated. Grocery shopping is one of my least favorite chores, so this may prove a true win-win situation.

March 3, 2008 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, fistula, health, kidney, renal diet, renal recipes, transplant, weight loss

No comments yet.

Leave a comment