Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

Checking in and battling winter

Just rescheduled my dialysis treatment for 10:30 this morning.  Have to cut the workday short so I can – I hope – miss the worst part of the predicted blizzard and still get a treatment in.

This winter’s persistent snow, ice and cold have proven a challenge, too, as far as making it to treatments. It seems the weather gets lousy on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays.

The furosemide is pulling some more fluid off, but it’s amazing how rock-hard the pockets of fluid remain. If it were someone else suffering it, I’d find it terribly interesting. Since I’m the one suffering this, I find it terribly inconvenient, annoying, more painful than I’d expect and a pain in the … well, you get the picture.

I took a sick day yesterday because my arthritis (left hip) and the swelling and zingers in my right leg were giving me real problems.  I took Tylenol and finally a Rquip in the morning (I usually don’t take the leg meds until evening and before treatment) before the pains subsided enough to get some solid sleep.

Guess I’d better order some cheddar since I seem to be headed for a Whine and Cheese party. 

Damn. I just realized I’ve got the wrong top on, if they want to try using my fistula for the first time today. Guess I’ll have to buzz home and change.

Just talked to someone in Des Moines who said the temperature there is “dropping like a rock” and snow flurries have started.

Oh, goody.

January 29, 2008 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, fistula, health, kidney, renal diet, renal recipes, transplant, weight loss

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

