Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

2 down, 1 to go

So Christmas is a pleasant memory and my birthday (Dec. 29), too. Just one more big night left and boy do I NOT have big plans for tonight.

This week will be atypical, too, because of Thursday night’s caucuses. When I asked for early dialysis so I could work Thursday night, boy did I get it.  I’m to be at the dialysis unit at 6 a.m. for a 6:20 connect. And here I thought working a night shift would give me the opportunity to sleep past 5 a.m. No rest for the wicked, I guess.

I stopped by Michael’s after work yesterday and took advantage of their 30 percent off sale on yarn. I got a number of skeins for community knitting. When I knit for the KCRG-TV9 Coats for Kids project, I like to make sure I use durable and machine washable and dryer friendly yarns. Michael’s or Hobby Lobby are both good sources of inexpensive yarns to use to that project.

I started one scarf last night and got about 15 inches done.  I’m going to set my goal at one scarf and hat set each month for Coats for Kids and 2 stocking caps for the Ships Project. That’s certainly doable.

Mom gave me a little gentle flak when I told her I’d gotten more yarn. I mean, just because I have a closet packed full doesn’t mean I don’t need more colors, does it?

So, now we know my sanity is safe for a few months at least.  When tomorrow turns, it means back into the strict meal plans, too.  I don’t think I’ve gained much real weight back over the past week, but I do know my fluid intake has been over the top. It’ll take some time to get that drained off, too.

It’s not a New Year’s Resolution. I don’t do those. I mean, how better to set yourself up for failure than to promise to do something for an entire year? I do believe in the one day at a time approach and I’m not going to whip myself unmercifully for a relaxed week. Just can’t let them happen very often.

I feel very mellow about this holiday season because we managed to have a good one without stressing out extraordinarily. And I know that the close brush with death made me appreciate the quiet celebration with family and friends. I’m going to carry that thought into the New Year: Take it one day at a time, appreciate what you have and realize the miracles in life sometimes come in small packages.

  

December 31, 2007 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, fistula, health, kidney, renal diet, renal recipes, transplant, weight loss

2 Comments »

  1. I did want to wish you a belated Happy Birthday. Happy New Year. I hope that each day of 2008 is a blessed one.

    Comment by catherineneal2006 | December 31, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thank you, Catherine…I hope your new year is blessed, too.

    Comment by iowakitkat | December 31, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

