Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

2 pounds down, 48 to go

Did you vote for Jenna today? I did and I’m going to do my best to remember to vote the next couple of days, too.

The good news: My dry weight was down by .9 kilograms last night. Woo Hoo! I still think it’s lower than that, but I can only request an extra .5 kilos of fluid sucked from my blood each time.  Once my dry weight is re-established by a doctor, I should see something closer to the actual weight.

The bad news: It cost me $23 to get home last night.  Since I’d driven up some slick hills on the way to dialysis and since it continued to snow during my treatment and reports were coming in from patients’ and staffs’ family and friends that the roads were getting really bad, I opted to call a taxi.

I was beginning to think I’d wasted my money until a sporty red car in front of us on I380 in the lane to the left spun into a 360-degree donut, nearly hitting us and nearly being hit by a semi in the far left lane. OK. It was probably a good decision. <smile>

Calorie intake Thursday: 1226

Additional activity: None. I’m not going to beat myself up if I don’t get in treadmill time on dialysis days. Working 8 hours and doing treatment for 5 to 51/2 makes for a pretty full day.  If I manage to sneak in a few minutes, it’s all gravy…oh, no, let’s not call it gravy…too many caolories! <grin>

Weight loss according to dialysis weigh out: .9 kilo or about 2 pounds (1.98 to be exact)

I’ve been working on my meal plan for the next week this morning and will post it a bit later.  I’ll add links to the recipes that are available online.

The recipes I’m developing myself I’m analyzing through a nutrition analyzer on About.com. We’re developing a recipe database at GazetteOnline and once it’s finished (probably around the first of February), I’ll give you a link to that as well.

I don’t know about you, if you’re a renal diabetic, but one of the more dismal things I had to deal with when I first started dialysis was the feeling there would be little or nothing for me to eat.

Getting these recipes in hand and doing the meal plans, though it takes a good deal of time, makes me feel like I can have choice and most of all some variety in my meals.

I do feel like a nutritional juggler — low sodium, low cal, low phosphorus, low potassium — dealing with all the special needs of my particular diet but the results are coming out surpisingly well when I send a day’s menus through the nutrition analyzer. The vast majority of the daily menus are coming out with a nutrition grade of A-.

Having those analyzers availble make me much more confident in adding in some of my own recipes for you, too. Before, since I didn’t have the tools to analyze, I was a bit loathe to tell anyone that a recipe I’d come up with was low anything. But now I can share with you:

Celebration French Toast

I made this this morning in celebration of being placed on the transplant list. Yesterday, when my nurse coordinator called with the news, I was doing the “go, Mayo” dance at my desk while I talked to her and she laughed and said, “No, that’s go, Kathy! Go, Kathy!” I asked her then how she thought I should celebrate since I’d started my diet. “Have a drink of water,” she said. “Oh, no,” I answered, “it’s not allowed on my fluid intake.”

That’s when I decided on the extra $20 to the Salvation Army as a way to celebrate, share the good news.  Then this morning I thought I deserved something a little special so I threw the french toast together.  I drizzled a tablespoon of Aunt Jemima Light Butter syrup over each slice and even though they weren’t smothered in syrup the little sprinkle of sweetner made them sweetlicious.

Celebration French Toast

2 eggs (if you’re concerned about cholesterol, use 1/3-1/2 c. egg substitute)

2 slices sourdough bread

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Dash cinnamon

Dash nutmeg, freshly ground if possible

1 packet Equal

Whisk eggs and spices together in a shallow dish. Soak each slice of bread on both sides in the egg mixture and place in a cooking spray coated skillet on medium to medium-high heat. Cook until golden brown on each side.

Place bread on serving plate and sprinkle each piece with sweetner. Drizzle each slice with a tablespoon of light pancake syrup.

Servings: 1

Calories: 381 (includes calories from syrup)

If you’re enjoying the recipes, please let me know. Don’t want to bore the readers, you know.

December 7, 2007 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, health, kidney, renal diet, renal recipes, weight loss

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

