Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

It’s D-day

Wednesday, December 5, 2007

It’s D-day at Mayo for me today, the committee that decides who goes on the kidney transplant list will be considering my request when they meet today. I’m sending good thoughts Rochester, Minnesota, way. Please do the same for me.

Today’s blood sugar

I was reading some information yesterday about dialysis and diabetes when I realized I hadn’t been taking my blood sugar levels very often. Not good.  I’ll be adding that information to my daily blog report.

Monitoring is, I’m sure, even more important on this low-cal food plan. I think I may need to be more concerned about low than high counts.  This morning at 5:30 my blood sugar was 88.

Dialysis went well last night and even though my Saturday session was cut short by an hour and 20 minutes, my long-stretch target was only 4.3 kilos. Not bad. I asked them to add another .5 kilo because I’m certain I’ve begun to lose weight. My jeans tell me so.

My INR from the protime taken before treatment started last night was 6.3, much too high. I was pretty certain that was the case since the inner half of my right eye looks as if the pupil is floating in blood.  Not a pretty mental picture, I know, but just know that it doesn’t hurt.

The nursing staff switched during my treatment. The nurse who drew my PT wasn’t there when I came off so we we unable to determine if the PT had been drawn correctly and she wasn’t there to consult.  I told the nurse who took me off that I was going to pare my night dose down to 5 mg from the 12.5 and call today to consult with Mary Ellen at the thrombophilia center at Mayo. 

It’s 8:35 a.m. and I just put in a call to Mayo and while I was on hold on the land line, Mercy Dialysis called to tell me to hold my coumadin until they could recheck it.  I told the Mercy nurse that I had cut the dosage to 5 mg last night and was at the moment on hold with Mayo on the land line.

Mary Ellen, the Mayo nurse who’s tracking my coumadin use, will call me back when she’s done with her patients.

And on the weightloss front

“A pound of fat is about 3,500 calories. To lose a pound of fat per week, you have to reduce your caloric intake by 3,500 calories (that means eating about 500 fewer calories per day) or burn off 3,500 extra calories by exercising. Most nutrition experts agree that the best way to lose weight and keep it off is to eat fewer calories and burn more calories, and this is a recipe that works regardless of age, sex, weight, or metabolism.”

Nubella.com newsletter

Tuesday calorie intake: 1447

Additional activity: None, really

Fluid intake: 36 to 40 oz.

Weight loss: This is a bit tricky since my “dry weight” will be fluctuating but at last night’s weigh-out I was .3 kilos (about 2/3 of a pound) lighter than my current dry weight.  I think it’s actually more than that because I felt my ankles were still a bit puffy after treatment.

There are times these days that I feel so self-centric I can hardly stand myself, but it certainly is necessary with my medical problems.

It is so important to be a self-advocate, to be involved in your own treatment, to monitor what’s happening to you even if you know you’re in the hands of experts.  They have great knowledge, true, but you know your own body and you know what quality of life means to you.

And when you’re advocating for yourself, question.  If you don’t understand something, want more information or are concerned about treatments, question. Most of the medical professionals I’ve dealt with welcome the questions and want you to understand what’s happening during your treatment.  They want you to be an active participant in your healthcare team. Me? Well, I’ve actually decided I want to be the leader of my healthcare team.

If they don’t give you a satisfactory answer or seem to feel affronted by your questioning, take it up a level. It is, after all, your life.

That doesn’t mean you need to be a bitch about it. You can make it clear that you want to be informed and a part of the decision-making process without biting someone’s head off.

It comes down to respect: If you expect respect you need to give respect, or in more positive terms, if you give respect you can expect respect.

Enough pedantic lecturing for the day.

December 5, 2007 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, health, kidney, transplant

1 Comment »

  1. […] iowakitkat put an intriguing blog post on Itâs D-dayHere’s a quick excerptWeight loss: This is a bit tricky since my “dry weight” will be fluctuating but at last night’s weigh-out I was .3 kilos (about 2/3 of a pound) lighter than my current dry weight. I think it’s actually more than that because I felt my … […]

    Pingback by Weightloss » Blog Archive » It’s D-day | December 5, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

