Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

A (re)new experience

I got my CPAP machine recalibrated and a new mask yesterday.  The pressure was dialed down to 7 and the new mask is much, much more comfortable than the previous one.

I set the machine up — I’m using the heated humidifier as well — on a small table next to the bed and still managed to leave room to get in and out with no obstruction.  The mask fits over my mouth with “pillows” in the nasal cavities so it feels less claustophobic than the last mask which covered my nose and had a support piece across the forehead.

If I’m really brave, I’ll let someone take a picture of me in the mask. It’s not the most attractive look unless you have a thing for Hannibal Lecter. Of course, if you add the hose that connects the mask to the machine, you get a definite Snuffleupagus look.  I don’t have a spouse, significant other or anyone other than my mom who sees me in bed, so  I guess it doesn’t matter.

It occurred to me as I was setting up the CPAP that my life is truly becoming machine-assisted living. Hmmmm

I slept fairly well last night. I only came to conciousness three times and falling back asleep was relatively easy, so I’m hoping this CPAP attempt will be more successful than the past one.

Monday stats

Calories: I cannot tell a lie, it was 1711. To quote Sylvester’s son, “Oh, Father, I’m so assshamed!” I could blame it on Mom, who served us up a double portion of dessert last night, but it was my decision to go ahead and eat the dessert. (Who wouldn’t? Obviously someone with more willpower than I have.) And I was just … munchy (don’t get the wrong idea there) hungry about 9:30 and the rice cake didn’t satisfy so I ate a hard boiled egg, too.

Fluid intake: About 36 oz.

Additional activity: 7 minutes on the treadmill at 1.5 mph and 20 minutes standing to do dishes. What? You got a problem with the dish washing as exercise? The activity meter on the About.com site says I should log it, if it’s additional activity and I don’t often stand and do dishes these days.

The Barley with Beef Stew was both filling and tasty. I also added a liberal shake of Mrs. Dash garlic herb seasoning to my bowl. A salad, a hard roll and a piece of fresh fruit would make a great meal. Or, as we did, the cherry bread pudding was a sweet treat that still falls within all the diabetic and renal restrictions.

Today it’s a leftovers day with Chicken Chili for lunch and Barley and Beef Stew for dinner. I still had cherry bread pudding but with a couple of hard boiled eggs for breakfast.

Here’s a quick little sauce I made last night to give the boiled eggs a little dipping sauce. I think with a little added garlic powder it would taste quite a bit like garlic aioli. What a treat!

Garlicky Mayo

2 Tbsp. Light Mayonnaise

1/2 tsp. Mrs. Dash extra spicy

1/4 tsp. garlic powder

1 Tbsp. country style Dijon mustard

Mix together and enjoy.  The mixture was prettier and I think tastier once it had set overnight.  Calories come mainly from the mayo so this should be about 75 calories in total, though the About.com recipe analyzer clocks 1 Tbsp. at 63 calories.  There must be more cals in dijon than I thought.

I think this would be good with fish, especially if a little lemon juice is added.

December 4, 2007 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, health, kidney, renal diet, renal recipes, transplant

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

