Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

Sunday totals

Nearly bed time, but I thought I’d stop in and report today’s totals:

Calories: 1445

Additional activity: 30 minutes grocery shopping 173 calories

Fluid intake: 40 oz.

Tried a cucumber cilantro salsa that’s quite tasty considering it has no salt or hot sauce in it.  I used it on broiled mahi mahi (which didn’t impress me much even if it is called the poor man’s lobster).

Here’s the salsa recipe:

1/2 c. frozen corn kernels

1/2 cucumber peeled and cubed

1/2 sweet red pepper diced

1 small onion diced

3 Tbsp. fresh lime juice

1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper

1/3 cup fresh cilantro leaves chopped

I mixed it together and let it marinate overnight. It has a really good flavor with a bit of a kick. Should be good on fish, chicken and pork and maybe even with a steak.

I also chose recipes for the main entrees for the week of Dec. 8 – 15. That’s a big part of the menu planning. I’m hoping to put together about 6 weeks worth of menus and then start repeating them or doing mix and match with them. At least with this menu I was smart enough to put the calorie counts in the notations so I know where and what need filling in.

I’ve been keeping track of my calorie intake and activity on About.com. They have a pretty thorough caloric database and activity logging system. It’s not totally specific to renal diabetic diets, but you can add values in for recipes, too. So I’ve been trying to take the renal diabetic recipes I’m using and putting them in my reports. 

It also has a nutrition analysis function that grades you on your meal plans for the day and in total.  So far I’m getting an A- for my plans. I hope to keep it that way.

I have an appointment after work tomorrow to get my CPAP machine re-calibrated and to get a new mask. I’m just getting soooooo healthy! 🙂

December 2, 2007 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, health, kidney, renal diet, renal recipes, transplant

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

