Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

Restless sleep

A couple of nights of restless sleep seemed to catch up with me last night.  I fell asleep in the recliner about 9 I think.  Mom woke me up about midnight when she headed to bed but I closed my eyes again and fell asleep for another 2 hours.

I looked out the window when I finally crawled into bed and thought, “It’s gonna be a slick one in the morning.”

Actually, it wasn’t as bad as I feared. It obviously stayed fairly warm overnight. It’s a grey, bone-chilling day even inside though.  Kinda wish I could be home, curled up in my chair knitting or reading.  Maybe a nice cup of tea on the side table.

My groggy night last night kept my calorie intake down to a little over 1000. Don’t want that to happen too often because that’s not enough for healthy living. I did look at some other recipes to begin planning the week 2 menus. 

I’ve got to start getting ahead on them, if I can.  It takes some time to plan them and account for using leftovers, etc., making sure they fit the diabetic renal eating plan and the calorie restrictions. 

I’ve also got to start gathering my receipts from the Rochester trips to file for partial reimbursement from my insurance company. I am so lucky my insurance covers a part of the lodging, transportation and food.

And speaking of food, I found a stuffing recipe I’m considering for Christmas. Sounds good to me: Cranberry Cashew Stuffing

December 2, 2007 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, health, kidney, renal diet, renal recipes, transplant

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

