Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

Traveling in a slushy

Yuck, what a day weather-wise. It was fine when I got to work about 7:30 but by the time 9 a.m. rolled around, the streets were icy, cars were glazed and people were having problems driving up inclines. I only had to work until about 11 which was good since I needed to do dialysis.

Took me about 6 or 7 minutes to make enough of a dent in the ice coating my car to crawl in and let the defrosters complete the work. I took 380 through town figuring it would be well-traveled and easier to negotiate than city streets. It was OK, but full of slush. I got to the Council Street outpatient unit in time to be on the machine by noon..

My target was only 2.8 kilos today. Pretty dang good if you ask me. I know my fluid intake was welll within the 48 oz. daily restrictions and I have been moving more and eating much less. Maybe I’m already seeing a drop in dry weight.  I don’t know for sure though because the treatment was cut an hour and 20 minutes short because of the lousy weather conditions. I did get within .5 of my current dry weight though. That’s a good thing since it’s the long stretch between treatments coming up.

Driving home was kind of like driving in the world’s largest snow cone that’s was quickly turning drippy. I hate to think what it’s going to be like tomorrow morning. If it freezes, that inch or so crust of ice and snain (snow and rain) could be there quite awhile. I did get the car in the garage so at least I shouldn’t have to worry about cleaning it off in the morning.

Oh, the verdict on the Chicken Chili: It is indeed good eats and with the 1/2 cup of cooked rice, filling, too.

I’m doing well on my calorie intake today and between the 5 minutes on the treadmill and the 10 minutes cleaning slushy off the back porch, I’ve expend a few calories other than the daily stuff.

More tomorrow.

December 1, 2007 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, kidney, renal diet, renal recipes, transplant

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

