Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

My joy list

A year or so ago on a day at work when I was particularly stressed and depressed, someone suggested I make a joy list and tack it to the cubicle wall. I did. It makes me smile when I glance up to see it and I somehow feel good knowing that it’s there for others to see, too.

This Thanksgiving I’d add a few more items to my joy list:

My life

My family

Hope

Those are the biggies, the little things are important, too:

Curious dogs with velvety ears and muzzles

Clear sailing on secondary highways

A good clutch in the car

Weather that allowed me to go get my kid for Thanksgiving

Smiles and hugs

Feeling support from so many people

Having a warm, comfortable place to live

There are others on the list at work:

Driving fast with music playing too loud

Hearing my mother laugh at a joke

The twinkle in a handsome man’s eyes

You get the picture.  If you haven’t thought about your personal joys today, it’s a good day to do so.

May your Thanksgiving be filled with the people and things you love.

November 22, 2007 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, health, kidney, transplant

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

