Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

Stunned

My phone rang here at work about 9 a.m. I was in the middle of an impromptu meeting with my supervisor so after the woman gave me her name I asked her if I could call her back in a few minutes. “Of course,” she said, and gave me her number.

A few minutes later I called the number. J (she’d rather her name not be used) answered and asked if I was the person who had had a page 1 story about kidney dialysis and transplants in The Gazette a few weeks back.

I was, I said.

She then said that she had had her blood typed for consideration as a kidney donor for a friend’s son and though that match didn’t work, she had read my story “with fascination” and would be willing “down the road when you get closer” to transplant to be considered as a donor for me.

Out of the blue. On a Tuesday morning and even after I’d had to say, “I’ll get back to you…”

Tears came to my eyes and I was nearly speechless. My thoughts raced and I fumbled for words I couldn’t find. How do you express your thanks to someone who is willing to save your life? A stranger reaching out to help in such an enormous way, it’s incredible.

We talked a short while and she said, “You have my name and number and I am serious about this.”

I told her I still had testing to complete and some side issues to address but that I would call her and let her know how the testing was going.

I’m still stunned. I have to process this some before my thoughts settle. I’ll write more later but for now wanted to share this woman’s incredible generosity with others.

November 20, 2007 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, health, kidney, transplant

1 Comment »

  1. WOW! I am so happy for you!!!!Q

    Comment by orange gearle | November 20, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

