Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

How’m I doin’?

It’s just after 8 p.m. Sunday.

How am I doing getting ready for my trip to Rochester via Wabasha?

  • My knitting gear is organized and packed (of prime importance)
  • My mom has her additional rolls of toilet paper and more of “something sweet”
  • My nanoPod is charging as we speak — I’ve got a few more CDs to add to it
  • The presents for the Wabasha branch of the family are packed
  • My dialysis bag is nearly packed (blanket, chewing gum, curiously chocolate altoids (I’ll add some knitting to it before I go each time, probably a little sock bag)
  • The completed forms are in the bag — but now that I’m writing this I think I need to find one other but I’m pretty sure I remember where I put it for safe keeping (god, I HATE when I do that especially if I don’t find it where I think I put it)
  • Couldn’t get the laptop at work today so I’ll have to stop by there before I leave town
  • Clothes are all washed and dried
  • My meds are packed except for the organizer which I have to leave out to take my morning pills
  • The electronic stuff (except for the nanoPod) is packed: cellphone charger, digital camera and cable, extra card for the camera and a wall charger for the nanoPod

I’ll pack the car in the daylight tomorrow. I need to make a run to the post office, too.  Then stop by work to get the laptop, fill the tank (remember to get a receipt for the insurance reimbursement) and then off. I hope to be on I380 by 9 a.m. That should get me into Wabasha about 1 p.m. Time to see new baby number one and possibly (the mother has been in labor most of the day today) new baby number two as well as Riley, my firs surrogate grandbabe who celebrated her 2nd birthday July 25.

Jean and I will head to Rochester in time to check in by 6 p.m. That should avoid night driven, of which I’m growing less and less  fond and give us both a good night’s rest. I hope I won’t be too keyed up to sleep.

I’ll let you know tomorrow.

November 4, 2007 - Posted by | diabetes, dialysis, health, kidney, transplant

1 Comment »

  1. GOOD LUCK!!!!

    Comment by orange gearle | November 4, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

