Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

A leg to stand on

I’m back in the prosthetic but watching the skin situation very closely.  The prosthetist brought the silver socks and did some retrofitting to the interior of the leg. It seems there are dual or even triple problems: 1) diabetes has stressed my skin; 2) in the place the blisters form, there are adhesions to the bone; 3) we’ve had problems establishing the contact necessary to combat blistering.

I’ve got to start making myself wear the prosthetic daily — starting with short periods — and need to work not only on exercises to strengthen the leg muscles but on loosening my hamstrings. Nothing like sitting at a desk for hours on end to tighten hamstrings.

Adieu to a friend

Minnie passed away last week. Another dialysis comrade I hate to say goodbye to. I learned a tremendous amount about her from her obituary. She was a strong woman who was instrumental in many community projects.  We’ll miss her around the waiting room table.

Mary Ann is back

Mary Ann is back at dialysis but not to her apartment. It appears this last illness may necessitate her moving into an assisted living center. She looks much improved and says a visit from Hershey, the cat she loves as much as chocolate, helped speed her recovery. It’s great to see her smile and bright blue eyes again.

Book research

The family and Civil War research is keeping me busy and at the computer for long hours at a time. The prosthetist tells me I need to start wearing my leg and elevating it at least slightly while I’m working. I think I’m going to have to get a small desk to accomplish that. Right now, the laptop sits on an oak TV tray.

The family research, of course, has gone well beyond the Civil War, actually in both directions. I mean how can you narrow your focus to a specific period when you find all this information? I find myself thinking, “I’d better get this into the family tree while it’s in front of my eyes.”

I’ve just started reading Shelby Foote’s narrative history of the Civil War and have learned more about the causes and political atmosphere in the first 75 pages than I ever learned in school.

All the time I’m reading and working, the book is on my mind: Where I want to start; who I want to include; what family stories; where I want to place it (I’m thinking dual settings as in both the homefront in Henry County and wherever the war takes I Company).

Needless to say, it’s all keeping me busy and that’s a good thing.

April 27, 2009 - Posted by | kidney

1 Comment »

  1. I stand here today humbled by the task before dofus kamas, grateful for the trust you have bestowed, mindful of the sacrifices borne by our cheap dofus kamas. I thank President dofus power leveling for his service to buy dofus kamas, as well as the generosity and cooperation he has shown throughout this transition.

    Comment by AKfour seven | October 21, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

