Stayin’ alive

A kidney dialysis/transplant diary

Blistered sister

Damn.

And double damn.

I returned to physical therapy Monday.  Walked about 300 feet and did a one-step exercise. Joe also gave me a good hamstring stretch.  This is all good. uh huh. Decided to take my leg off once I got into dialysis so I wouldn’t stress my skin too much. About 21/2 hours into treatment, they did a foot check and asked to see my stump as well.  “You’ve got blisters here.”

Damn and double damn.

We called off PT for the next two sessions at least  and put in a call to Sherri, my prosthetist, to see if she could tell me what I’m doing wrong that’s causing the blisters. She just returned the call as I’m writing this post and told me to wait til she can take a look at the situation before I attempt to use the leg again. That’s a no brainer for me. The last thing I want to do is set up an infection. I’d rather be overly cautious than lose more of my leg, but at this rate it feels as if it will take a year to get in 2 weeks of PT treatment.

Jodi, the physician’s assistant in Dr. V’s office, prescribed something other than Immodium to try to control the loose stool problem I’ve been having. I certainly will be relieved if it works. I’m tired of doing a prewash rinse out of nightgowns and underwear. I know: too much information.

But, the sun is shining and the snow has melted and we’re not in flood-troubled Grand Forks, so smiles are in order.

March 31, 2009 - Posted by | kidney

3 Comments »

  1. Kathy,

    I am not sure if it will work for you; however,
    Donna had a similar problem. After going through
    some tests and not getting any relief, someone
    suggested that she eat 5 to 6 ounces of Dannon
    plain yogurt before every meal. That has taken
    care of the loose stools. It has to be Dannon,
    it has something in it that other yogurt does not.
    Good Luck, Dennis

    Comment by Dennis G | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  2. Thanks, Dennis … I understand Donna’s doing well. :)

    Comment by iowakitkat | April 3, 2009 | Reply

  3. Kathy,

    Donna is doing very well. On her last blood tests, her
    creatine level was .7. When she went on dialysis, it
    was 7.9. Also, her hemoglobin is up over 10, instead
    of 7.3 before her surgery.

    Donna reminded me that her loose stools was the result
    of a fructose allergy. She stopped eating anything
    with fructose in it and eating the yogurt before each
    meal.

    We hope and pray that you blister heal and you will
    not have to have more surgery. We are thinking about
    you and praying for the best for you.

    D & D

    Comment by Dennis G | April 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

